yellow FLAGLast Updated: 4:36pm - Sep 15, 2022

Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee Elects New Board of Directors

On January 27th, 2017

The Royal St. John’s Regatta is the oldest continuing organized sport event in North America, with 2016 marking the 198th running. On January 27, The Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee held its Annual General Meeting and elected its new Board of Directors.

“The Regatta Committee is continuously seeking to foster the growth of both the event and fixed-seat rowing,” says 2016 Royal St. John’s Regatta President, Paul Rogers, “this year, we will continue to improve the experience, not only for our rowers but, for the 30,000 visitors we get lakeside each year. Our first official Regatta Committee meeting will take place in March and that is when the real work starts for us.”

The Regatta Committee consists of 50 members, all of whom volunteer their time to plan one of the biggest tourism events in Newfoundland and Labrador. Meetings are held monthly, beginning in March of each year. The Committee is then led by a Board of Directors.

“While I am not eager to see my Presidency come to an end, I am looking forward to the upcoming year. For the last two years, I have had the privilege of collaborating with a tremendously talented team of Committee and Staff.  We made great strides in building our programs, including the Chevron Learn to Row Program and will continue to focus on those in 2016.”
2015 Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee President, Bob Clarke.

The Chevron Learn to Program is just one of many successful initiatives under the leadership of the Board of Directors. The Program generally runs two sessions yearly, one in early Fall and one in late Spring.

“Youth participation is pertinent to the development of the Royal St. John’s Regatta. As the adult rowers of the future they are vital to the long-term sustainability. Last year, we had 12 Squirt crews participate and this year we are looking forward to increasing that by putting plans in place to make it even easier for youth to get involved.
– 2016 Vice President and Captain of the Course, Chris Neary.

The Board of Directors has 10 members, each with a unique portfolio. The Directors are responsible for a specific area applicable to Regatta Day and associated events. The 2016 Board of Directors is comprised of the following:

Paul Rogers, President
Bob Clarke, Immediate Past-President
Chris Neary, Vice-President
Scott Howell, Treasurer
Candace Moakler, Secretary
Bradley Power, Director – Boathouse & Pond
Gerard Doran, Director – GroundSpace
Lynn Healey, Director – Communications
Susan Collins, Director – Sponsorship & Marketing
Wallace Gregory, Director – Hospitality


– 30 –

Media Contact:

LeighAnne O’Neill
General Manager
Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee
(709) 576-8921
[email protected]

Media Contact

For more information or to request an interview, please contact:

Keith White
Director of Communications
[email protected]