green FLAGLast Updated: 3:36pm - May 21, 2024

Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee Adds Two Crews to Hall of Fame

On July 17th, 2018

July 17, 2018

For Immediate Release

Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee Adds Two Crews to Hall of Fame

The Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee is pleased to announce two new inductees into the Hall of Fame: the 1977 Placentia Lions Men’s Crew and the 1989 Outer Cove/East Coast Marine Male Juvenile Team.

“We’re thrilled to add these two outstanding crews to our Hall of Fame,” said Chris Neary, President of the Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee. “Both the 1977 Placentia Lions Men’s Crew and the 1989 Outer Cove/East Coast Marine Male Juvenile Team have had a positive impact on the sport and we’re so glad their contributions are being recognized.”

The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be hosted by the City of St. John’s on Wednesday, July 25.

1977 Placentia Lions Men’s Crew
The 1977 Placentia Lions Men’s Crew were very proud of their rowing heritage and took their inspiration from the ‘Seven Placentia Giants’ of 1877, who walked 145 kms from Placentia to St. John’s to participate in the ‘Fisherman’s Race’ and handily won their race against all expectations.

The 1977 crew followed in those ‘giant footsteps’ as they replicated the amazing feat by walking their boat to St. John’s over four-and-a-half days, sleeping in tents on the side of the road. Though they faced high temperatures that blistered their feet, they completed the journey and went on to win the championship race and the 1977 ‘Triple Crown’ of fixed seat rowing (Placentia, Harbour Grace and St. John’s Regattas).
This crew was no stranger to rowing success, having been the first team to win the ‘Triple Crown’ in 1976. In preparation for the ’77 regattas, they started training in a new way – dry land training.

The team members were: Gerard Barron, Leo Collins, Frank Lannon, Adrian Okeefe (coxswain), Anthony Whittle, Brendan Whittle, Clem Whittle (spare), and Tom Whittle.

1989 Outer Cove/East Coast Marine Male Juvenile Team
The 1989 Outer Cove/East Coast Marine Juvenile Male Crew has the distinction of holding the male Juvenile record of 9:43.07 for the past 29 years. This longstanding record is a testament to the level of skill and training the team achieved.
Prior to rowing in the Juvenile class, they rowed as a Midget crew in 1987. They not only won their race that year, but set a new midget course record at 5:13.06, which held until 1995.

In 1988, they moved up into the Juvenile category and continued to demonstrate their rowing prowess by winning their race with a time of 9.57.05. The following year would see them set a course record that remains unbroken.

In 1990, the team rowed in the Amateur race. This proved to be their last as a team, as they parted ways to pursue their education and careers.

The team members were: Chris Andrews, John Cadigan (spare), Mike Cadigan, Carl Coady, Gerard Doran (coxswain), Harold Kelly, Jason Noseworthy and Scott Winsor.

Nomination Process
The Hall of Fame Committee puts out a call for nominations in the spring of each year. The three categories are: Rower/Crew, Coach/Coxswain, and Builder. The Committee receives and reviews applications, and certificates are presented at a special luncheon the Wednesday before the Regatta.

The 2018 Royal St. John’s Regatta Hall of Fame Committee members are: Don Kelly (Chair), Bob Clarke, Brian Madore, Brendan McCarthy, Mike Power, Wayne Purchase and Bob Whelan.

“We’re very happy to have these two crews inducted into the Hall of Fame for 2018,” said Mr. Kelly. “We hope more deserving crews, rowers, coaches and coxswains are nominated next year and in the years ahead.”

The Regatta Hall of Fame was established in 1987, with three objectives. The first is to recognize, honour and pay tribute to individuals or crews on the basis of ability, sportsmanship, character and achievement or extraordinary distinction in fixed seat rowing, whether amateur or professional.

The second is to recognize, honour and pay tribute to those individuals, groups or associations who have given distinguished service and who have made a major contribution to the development and advancement of fixed seat rowing in Newfoundland.

And the third is to encourage the development of all aspects of fixed seat rowing by permanently recording the achievements and history of such individuals, groups, associations, or crews.


For more information or to request an interview, please contact:

LeighAnne O’Neill, General Manager
Media Contact

Royal St. John’s Regatta
[email protected]
tel. 709.576.8921