green FLAGLast Updated: 8:51am - Jul 13, 2024

NEWS RELEASE: Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee Elects New Board of Directors

On January 31st, 2020

JANUARY 30, 2020 (St. John’s, NL): At its Annual General Meeting, the Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee elected its new Board of Directors for 2020. Mr. Bradley Power, former Vice President and Captain of the Course, was elected President, in addition to the election of a full slate of individuals for executive and director positions within the organization.


“It is a great honour to be elected the 46th President of the Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee,” said Bradley Power. “Having grown up in Logy Bay-Middle Cove-Outer Cove – a community with a deep and storied history in the sport of rowing – I have always had an interest in the regatta and participated myself for eight years as a rower and coxswain. By utilizing my personal experience and the knowledge I’ve gained on the Regatta Committee over the last six years, I look forward to working with our new Board of Directors to advance the regatta’s strategic priorities and build on past successes. I am extremely proud of the team we have in place and anticipate another successful year at Quidi Vidi Lake.”


The Regatta Committee consists of approximately 50 volunteers, who plan and execute one of the largest annual tourism events in Newfoundland and Labrador. The Committee is governed by a Board of Directors. Committee meetings are held monthly, beginning in March of each year.


The Vice President of the Regatta Committee also serves as the Captain of the Course. They are responsible for all aspects of race day from schedule creation to safety of participants and volunteers.


“The Captain of the Course role is a significant undertaking but, I am excited to begin. I know my predecessors have made huge strides in the betterment of the organization and I am eager to build upon what they’ve created and continue the growth and development of race day and fixed-seat rowing.
– Noelle Thomas-Kennell, Vice President and Captain of the Course


The Board of Directors includes 11 Regatta Committee members, each with a unique portfolio, and one non-voting senior staff member. The Directors are responsible for a specific area applicable to Regatta Day and associated events.


The 2020 Board of Directors is comprised of the following:

  • Bradley Power, President
  • Chris Neary, Immediate Past-President
  • Noelle Thomas-Kennell, Vice-President
  • Lynn Healey, Treasurer
  • Candace Moakler, Secretary
  • Ashley Peach, Director – Boathouse and Pond
  • Scott Winsor, Director – Ground Space
  • Tracy Shute, Director – Communications
  • Keith White, Director – Sponsorship
  • Sheridan Yetman, Director – Hospitality
  • Jennifer Windsor-Browne, Director – Rowing
  • LeighAnne O’Neill, Executive Director (Ex-officio member)


The Royal St. John’s Regatta is the oldest continuing organized sporting event in North America, with this year marking the organization’s 202nd anniversary. More information about the Royal St. John’s Regatta, including details about operations, learn to row programs, learn to coxswain programs, and resources on how to establish a rowing team can be found at


– 30 –

Media Contact:

LeighAnne O’Neill
Executive Director
Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee
[email protected]


Bradley Power Bio