green FLAGLast Updated: 3:36pm - May 21, 2024

NEWS RELEASE: Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee Elects New Board of Directors

On January 28th, 2021

NEWS RELEASE: Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee Elects New Board of Directors

JANUARY 28, 2021 (St. John’s, NL): Last evening, at the Annual General Meeting, the Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee elected its new Board of Directors for 2021. President Bradley Power and Vice President, Noelle Thomas-Kennell will enter year two of their two-year term, in addition to the election of a full slate of individuals to assume Director roles on the Board.

My first year as the 46th President of the Royal St. John’s Regatta was something that I could have never imagined. The Royal St. John’s Regatta has been a part of my life, for all my life, so; I was honoured to be provided the opportunity to contribute to an organization I regard with such fervor,” said Bradley Power. “However, as we know, 2020 was a year which brought challenges for everyone and like other organizations, we had to pivot our operations to ensure the health and safety of all of our stakeholders.

Annually, the Regatta Committee hosts five events; Ice MeltErg Indoor Rowing Challenge and Wellness Fair in the Spring; Discovery Day, Time Trials and the Royal St. John’s during the Summer and Fall Fun Regatta and Food Truck Fair in the Fall. Consisting of approximately 50 volunteers, The Regatta Committee plans and executes one of the largest annual tourism events in Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Vice President also serves as the Captain of the Course and is responsible for overseeing each event day.

The decisions we had to make over the last year were disappointing but also quite necessary. We relied on ingenuity to creatively ensure the sprit of the Regatta was kept alive and succeeded in that by hosting a virtual run, a series of health and wellness sessions and an indoor rowing challenge when the guidance from Public Health deemed it prudent to do so. We don’t know what 2021 holds but, we’re prepared to make the absolute best of whatever situation we find ourselves in, with the rowing community at the forefront of our mind.

– Noelle Thomas-Kennell, Vice President and Captain of the Course

The Board of Directors includes 11 volunteer Regatta Committee members, each with a unique portfolio, and one non-voting executive staff member for a total of 12. The Directors are responsible for a specific area applicable to Regatta Day and associated event.

The 2021 Board of Directors is comprised of the following:

  • Bradley Power, President
  • Noelle Thomas-Kennell, Vice-President
  • Lynn Healey, Treasurer
  • Susie Ennis, Secretary
  • Chris Neary, Immediate Past-President
  • Ashley Peach, Director – Rowing Relations
  • Campbell Feehan, Director – Boathouse and Pond
  • Candace Moakler, Director – Sponsorship
  • Scott Winsor, Director – Ground Space
  • Sheridan Yetman, Director – Hospitality
  • Tracy Shute, Director – Communications
  • LeighAnne O’Neill, Executive Director (Ex-officio member)

The Royal St. John’s Regatta is the oldest continuing organized sporting event in North America, with this year marking the organization’s 203rd anniversary. More information about the Royal St. John’s Regatta, including details about operations, learn to row programs, learn to coxswain programs, and resources on how to establish a rowing team can be found at

– 30 –

Media Contact:

LeighAnne O’Neill
Executive Director
Royal St. John’s Regatta Committee
[email protected]